« back to encyclopedia search results
Fat taken from around the kidneys of beef animals. It is generally shredded, and used to make certain pastry.
There are now 'suets' suitable for vegetarians, however, these contain just as much fat (and saturated fat) as true suet. See our Recipe Section - 'Pastry; Suet'