This website uses cookies

Cookies remember you so we can give you a better service online. By using this website or closing this message, you are agreeing to our Cookies noticeClose
Skip to content
« back to encyclopedia search results


A product made from certain species of Japanese seaweed (especially the Gelidium variety) and used as a vegetarian substitute for gelatine. It"s also needed for a few items which contain an enzyme that prevents gelatine working - such as kiwi fruit and pineapple. It comes in sticks or bars, the former resembling uneven clear noodles, and these need "melting" in cold water in the same manner as ordinary gelatine.

It is used in manufactured food as a stabilising agent (E406), especially in ice cream.

Reviews / Comments

Not yet reviewed

Be the first to add a review